Little emerald bird

Patti Smith is my personal hero. I don’t say that easily. I don’t like heros, nor do I care to model anything after anyone. However, Patti rocks my world. Her amazing compassion and love inspires me to new heights.

The Memorial Song was written by Patti for her first partner, Robert Mapplethorpe. It has become a national anthem of sorts amongst the AIDS communities. Poinant and familiar, it will stay with you for days. Please listen.

MEMORIAL SONG
Little emerald bird
Wants to fly away
If I cup my hand
Could I make him stay

Little emerald soul
Little emerald eye
Little emerald soul
Must you say good-bye

All the things
That we pursue
All that we dream
Are composed
As nature knew
In a feather green

Little emerald bird
As you light afar
It is true I heard
God is where you are
Little emerald soul
Little emerald eye
Little emerald bird
We must say good-bye

This post is dedicated for Anabelle Marquis, one of our Concerned Bloggers. She underwent a daring surgery to her neck and is now recovering at home with her family. We love you Belle and can’t wait for next month! <3

This Public Service Announcement was brought to you by the Concerned Bloggers Association. If you would like to become involved, please contact Marleen Vaughan for more information.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Little emerald bird

  1. […] Marleen Vaughan of coffeesmoke blog, posted the Memorial Song by Patti Smith. Please a click the link and give it a listen. It is often played at candle-light vigils, funerals, and community gatherings for HIV Awareness. To read the lyrics, click here: https://coffeesmoke.wordpress.com/2012/06/26/little-emerald-bird/ […]

  2. Get better soon Anabelle :)

  3. Geoff E says:

    Thank you for posting this on your blog. I love this song and I have been singing it in the shower since this album came out. I don’t really know how to communicate why I love it so much; the song speaks for itself. Anyway, thank you for providing it.

Leave a Reply

