..an apology.

I have an apology to make, so I thought I would do it on my blog. Humility is a good thing and I know I’m an opinionated cunt at times (by “at times” – I mean, all of the time). So here it is…

Lady Gaga, I am sorry.
I am sorry I openly scorned your lyrics and said you were “just a phase”.
I am sorry I didn’t appreciate your diversity and value your role in popular culture.
Please accept my apology. I get it now. I was a dumbass. 

9 out of 10 LGBT teens have reported being bullied at school within the past year because of their sexual orientation.

I really do honestly mean it.

Belle Marquis did the research this month on Bullying for Concerned Bloggers Association, when she came back with the Born this Way Foundation – I was floored. I suddenly realized how valuable Lady Gaga is to a lot of people. She spreads a message of hope and there is nothing wrong with that.

The best part is this: “Lady Gaga’s mother, Cynthia Germanotta, who will serve as president of the Born This Way Foundation.*” Mom’s in charge don’t fuck around. I imagine this Foundation will bring a lot advocacy, action and assistance to many teens in need. I commend Lady Gaga and her mom for doing this. It’s about ten shades of awesome in a beautiful rainbow. Heh.

Personally, I don’t look back at high school with wistful thoughts – ever. In reading about what Lady Gaga went through in her teen years, my heart goes out to her and I see her with new eyes. Compassionate eyes. Her translation of all that shit, into something productive… is amazing. To say the least. Please support her foundation in any way you can. Here is the information:

http://bornthiswayfoundation.org/
Blog: http://btwfoundation.tumblr.com/
Stories of Bravery: http://bornthiswayfoundation.org/stories

This Public Service Announcement was brought to you by the Concerned Bloggers Association. If you would like to become involved, please contact Marleen Vaughan for more information.

*SOURCES: New York Times. BullyingStatistics.org

Tagged , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “..an apology.

  1. […] Lady Gaga and Marleen Vaughan of coffeesmoke cuddle up over the Born this Way Foundation to help GLBT Teens. Also, Marleen’s antics owe Miss Gaga an apology. You can read all about it here: https://coffeesmoke.wordpress.com/2012/03/05/anapology/ […]

  2. Kitti Wytchwood says:

    Heyyy. I love Gaga, and have for a while now. Took a bit of getting used to, but she’s infinitely interesting, and yeah, I heard she was doing a lot for anti-bullying. I didn’t realise she’d (helped) set up a foundation, though, That’s incredible. Apparently she had talks with Obama about anti-bullying initiatives in schools. I’m glad she’s using her fame for good! <3

  3. bellessima says:

    Wow very wonderful Marls takes a big person to admit such stuff. I love Gaga, I have always admired her gumption she takes no shit in her current state and I love it!! I love what she is doing with Born This Way Foundation and OMG if you see her do her tribute to Jamey Rodemeyer “Hair”

    She is down right amazing makes me want to see her live sooo bad!!!

  4. bellessima says:

    Good deal Marls wonderful apology!! I have always loved her gumption to do as she likes whether it be her attire or attitude. She is an amazing lady and if you haven’t seen this video please check it out makes me want to see her live soooo bad:

    Rest in Peace Jamey Rodemeyer
    Sorry life treated you the way it did :(

  5. I do really think Lady Gaga should wear shoes that make it possible for her to walk without clutching the walls. As a strong woman icon she should wear shoes that make her appear strong and secure and yet she sometimes teeters on those 12″ platforms. I really have a problem when woman can’t walk in their shoes because of their outrageous style! Other then that I think she’s incredible. Very original and brave.

  6. This was a great post. Thank you for spreading the word! Born This Way Foundation in Second Life (BTWFSL) offers a safe place in-world.

    Find us here http://slurl.com/secondlife/Four%20Bridges%20Project/212/177/32
    Twitter here https://twitter.com/BTWFSL
    And Facebook here https://www.facebook.com/BTWFoundationInSL

    We love your fashion blog and were pleasantly surprised to find this!

    Thank you!!

Leave a Reply

