World War Z: book excerpt

Every time the subject of zombies comes up, I begin the pimping of my favorite book WORLD WAR Z by Max Brooks (son of Mel Brooks, the movie icon). So instead of the usual shenanigans of saying how great it is, I am just going to publish an excerpt. Every chapter of the book starts off with brackets. This sets the stage for that particular story, since the book covers every corner of the globe.

GREATER CHONGQING, THE UNITED FEDERATION OF CHINA
[At its prewar height, this region boasted a population of over thirty-five million people. Now, there are barely fifty thousand. Reconstruction funds have been slow to arrive in this part of the country, the government choosing to concentrate on the more densely populated coast. There is no central power grid, no running water besides the Yangtze River. But the streets are clear of rubble and the local “security council” has prevented any postwar outbreaks. The chairman of that council is Kwang Jingshu, a medical doctor who, despite his advanced age and wartime injuries, still manages to make house calls to all his patients.]

…I was still lost in my grand, cultural criticism when I knelt to examine the first patient. She was running a high fever, forty degrees centigrade, and she was shivering violently. Barely coherent, she whimpered slightly when I tried to move her limbs. There was a wound in her right forearm, a bite mark. As I examined it more closely, I realized that it wasn’t from an animal. The bite radius and teeth marks had to have come from a small, or possibly young, human being. Although I hypothesized this to be the source of the infection, the actual injury was surprisingly clean. I asked the villagers, again, who had been taking care of these people. Again, they told me no one. I knew this could not be true. The human mouth is packed with bacteria, even more so than the most unhygienic dog. If no one had cleaned this woman’s wound, why wasn’t it throbbing with infection?

I examined the six other patients. All showed similar symptoms, all had similar wounds on various parts of their bodies. I asked one man, the most lucid of the group, who or what had inflicted these injuries. He told me it had happened when they had tried to subdue “him.”

“Who?” I asked.

I found “Patient Zero” behind the locked door of an abandoned house across town. He was twelve years old. His wrists and feet were bound with plastic packing twine. Although he’d rubbed off the skin around his bonds, there was no blood. There was also no blood on his other wounds, not on the gouges on his legs or arms, or from the large dry gap where his right big toe had been. He was writhing like an animal; a gag muffled his growls.

Yep. The book is amazing! Definitely worth every word.

top – deviant girls…………. bloody kiss T (HOT FOR ZOMBIE)
bottom – BALACLAVA…………. Living Dead Pants – charcoal (HOT FOR ZOMBIE)
smoke – Nightshade Designs…………. London Fog Clove Cigarette
heels – Dead Designs…………. Rose Heels (HOT FOR ZOMBIE)
skin – &Bean…………. Lake Smiley Group Gift
hair – Tiny Bird…………. Love Love Love – vanilla
poses – Olive Juice

Excerpted from World War Z by Max Brooks, author of The Zombie Survival Guide Copyright © 2006 by Max Brooks. Excerpted by permission of Crown, a division of Random House, Inc. All rights reserved.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “World War Z: book excerpt

  1. Jeanne says:

    I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good.
    I don’t know who you are but definitely you’re going to a famous blogger if you are not
    already ;) Cheers!

Leave a Reply

