Cherry Bomb.

I grew up in a household of men. I guess that’s why I am so mouthy and blunt. My brother and dad used to say there were no really good female musicians. At the time, I didn’t know any better to defend my sex. I felt so pissed off that there were no female artists I could look up too. By the time I got to college, I was only listening to chicks. I was like the fucking call-in center for feminist lesbian singers. You name it, I was on it. I thought, at that time, it was a “FUCK YOU” to my dad and brothers.

It wasn’t.

The ultimate fuck you to sexism in the music industry is knowing MORE than the men do. As Mr. Bulwer-Lytton put it, “The pen is mightier than the sword, [mutha fucker].” Knowledge is power.

So! If any of you ladies are feeling oppressed by your male counterparts in the game of “This band is cooler than yours”, then get reading. Learn about the origins of music of band members. Read all those pretentious online magazines like Pitchfork (I do hate those pompous fuckers). Get informed. Then, you can bask in the light of knowing MORE than the arrogant fucks around you.

top – R.icielli…………. Fame Kills – white
skirt – Primitive Designs…………. Skully Skirt – black
bra – Blacklace…………. Tangible Dreams (borrowed from Sylvia)
leggings – Le.Look…………. la femme leggings (free)
tattoo – Alexitimia Tattoo…………. Rising Sun
smoke – Naith Smit…………. black Cigarette
necklace – Fear & Clothing …………. Sacred Heart Rust
braceletts – KOSH …………. WTF!? Bracelets
earring – Shadethrone…………. Feather Earring – black (free group gift)
boots – J’s …………. Long Boots Round – black
eyes – eponym …………. Basic Eyes – gold (free)
skin – &Bean…………. Pale – No Hay Banda
hair – booN…………. PEA619 – black
poses – DARE (50 linden)

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Cherry Bomb.

  1. Sylvia Olivier says:

    “The pen is mightier than the sword, [mutha fucker].” Knowledge is power.”

    ahhh love your use of the word “mutha fucker” here. so right on.. chachachachacherry bomb!

  2. okrebecca says:

    OH HAI! you like pretentious hipster chicks? HOTNESS ALERT: (you know you really were the BOMB, oh oh oh!)


    [atomic infamy]

    sadly, i assume she is straight :/

  3. Marls says:

    I’m a dick. I haven’t responded yet. Bleh. I will blame it on rock and roll music, drugs and lack of responsibility.

    ugh. I think i gotta go pee. Thanks everyone!

  4. Now this article is really one of the best Ive read on this exellent topic. I agree with your views and am looking forward to your new posts. I’m grabbing your rss feed to stay informed of any updates.

  5. MissShellBee says:

    Makes me even more anxious for the movie to come out about Joan Jett! Luv this look! Totally speaks to my inner rock chick.

Leave a Reply

