The Arts in Education

When I was little, pretty much everything that I liked had 4 legs or was in the back woods of my house. I didn’t particularly “blend” into the normal crowd in my schools. I was introverted, shy, and socially awkward. I had no idea how to communicate with other human beings, so animals worked a lot better for me. Nature in general was the bee’s knees in my book.

ArtsinEducation

My self-expression seemed to naturally lay with the arts and nature was my muse. Growing up, I often felt incapable of handling most situations. With an absentee father and a mentally ill mother, I was left pretty much to my own.

In middle school, I began to explore photography. My father, at that time, was the principal of my school. In order to demonstrate his love to me maybe, he built a dark room in an unused teacher’s bathroom. There was counter space to lay out all the chemicals, a tap for running water, and even a place to examine your negatives while they dry.

This was the first time, in all my life, that I felt self-expression. I could go out, take pictures, come in and develop them all on my own. They weren’t particularly great, I was only 13 at the time, but they granted me a voice. A starting point for my creative young spirit to bloom from.

My final photo in the 8th grade.

My final photo in the 8th grade.

There are tons of studies proving the efficacy of the arts in education. Statistics like:

Studies show that students of the arts in all disciplines outperformed their non-arts peers on the SAT by 91 points in 2009.¹

Students who participate in arts programs are at least three times more likely to be recognized for academic achievement, elected to class office within their schools, participate in a math and science fair, win an award for school attendance and win an award for writing an essay or poem.¹

Support your local Arts Programs. They are an opportunity waiting to happen.

CBA_FooterImage

This Public Service Announcement was brought to you by the Concerned Bloggers Association. If you would like to become involved, please contact Marleen Vaughan for more information.

¹ SOURCE: http://www.dosomething.org/tipsandtools/11-facts-about-arts-education#

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “The Arts in Education

  1. [...] Marleen Vaughan of coffeesmoke blog talks about her first experiences photographing nature in middle school. Check our an actual image from her 1989 Photography class here: http://coffeesmoke.wordpress.com/2013/01/18/artsineducation/ [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,394 other followers

